Ron Paul Supporters Carry Iowa Republican Convention

Ron Paul's supporters swept to victory during the weekend convention, rankling some other Republicans; they will send a large number of delegates to the national convention.

Iowa will send a large number of Ron Paul supporters to the Republican National Convention in Tampa, Florida, after a somewhat contentious weekend state convention.

The 28 Republicans Iowa will send are unbound, which means they're free to vote how they choose at the national convention. However, Paul's Iowa Chairman Drew Ivers said that doesn't mean the delegates will get into a nomination fight, according to the Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier:

The movement's goal is "to restore liberty and return state and national government to constitutional limits."

Several news organizations reported the convention was at times rowdy, with speakers arguing with each other, at times with raised voices.

Judd Saul, a Tea Party organizer from Cedar Falls, had campaigned to replace Iowa’s Republican National Committeeman Steve Scheffler, but Scheffler was re-elected.

Robert Anderson will be the main Johnson County delegate.

The delegates are:

National Delegates:

Dr. Drew Ivers, Delegation Chairman, Hamilton
Steve Anders, Pottawattamie
Robert Anderson, Johnson
Andrea Bie, Allamakee
Nancy Bowery, Page
Governor Terry Branstad, Boone
Michelle Bullock, Polk
Ani DeGroot, Johnson
David Fischer, Polk
U.S. Senator Chuck Grassley, Butler
Mark Hansen, Pottawattamie
Will Johnson, Dubuque
Dusty Juhl, Story
Ed Kelenyi, Jefferson
Brian Kraft, Boone
Gopal Krishna, Polk
Roger Leahy, Jefferson
Jeff Luecke, Dubuque
State Representative Glen Massie, Polk
James Mills, Floyd
Lexy Nuzum, Madison
Brent Oleson, Linn
Kelly Schoen, Linn
Margaret Stoldorf, Montgomery
Jeff Taylor, Sioux

These delegates are in addition to Iowa’s three automatic delegates:
Republican Party of Iowa Chairman & Republican National Committee Member A.J. Spiker, Story
Iowa’s Republican National Committeewoman Kim Lehman, Polk
Iowa’s Republican National Committeeman Steve Scheffler, Polk

The following National Alternate Delegates were also elected:

National Alternate Delegates:
Chelsy Askren, Clayton
Jennifer Bowen, Dallas
John Bowery, Page
Buddi Brooks, Pottawattamie
Chris Canny, Johnson
Sam Clovis, Plymouth
Jonas Cutler, Polk
Therese Davis, Guthrie
Aaron Dowdell, Marshall
Benjamin DuBois, Story
Mike Gresham, Fremont
Eric Grote, Franklin
Dr. Cody Hoefert, Lyon
Jeff Jorgensen, Pottawattamie
Tracee Knapp, Ringgold
Titus Landegent, Plymouth
Gabe Lanz, Polk
Ruth Long, Union
Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds, Clarke
Lisa Smith, Wapello
Sarah Stokes, Black Hawk
Chet Swanson, Jefferson
Kurt Whalen, Scott
David Wiederstein, Cass
State Senator Brad Zaun, Polk

“I would like to congratulate all the delegates and alternate delegates on being chosen by fellow Iowa Republicans to represent the great State of Iowa at the National Convention in Tampa. I look forward to the convention in Tampa and bringing our party together so that we make President Obama a one-term president,” said Republican Party of Iowa Chairman A.J. Spiker in a press release from the Iowa Republican Party.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »