Iowa City City Council Election Results: Payne, Hayek, Throgmorton, Dobyns Victorious

Here are the preliminary final results, which will later be officially certified by the Johnson County Supervisors.

In the end, an Iowa City City Council election with a chance for suprising results turned out to be fairly routine.

During a miserable rainy day, only 14.77 percent of Iowa City's 51,248 voters showed up to cast their votes in the Iowa City City Council election, a fairly low number even by . 

The beneficaries of these votes were current Mayor , winning by a comfortable margin; , who ran opposed; , who defeated challenger Steve Soboroff by almost 1,800 votes; and , who narrowly defeated her nearest challenger by just 232 votes.

The results are not official until the votes are canvassed by the Johnson County Board of Supervisors on Nov. 15.

Patel, who was vying to make history by winning a council seat as a college student, beat Payne in precincts such as the Iowa City Rec Center, the University of Iowa Main Library and the Johnson County Courthouse, where students traditional vote in greater numbers. Patel also held a more than 300 vote advantage over Payne in early votes. But these advantages, possibly due to the low turnout, were not enough, as Payne defeated or tied him in older neighborhood precincts. 

You can see the voting breakdowns here.

Here is an article on the results by the Gazette's Gregg Hennigan.

Here are the tallies:


At Large:

Matt Hayek 4,550

Michelle L. Payne 2,890

Jarrett Mitchell 1,669

Raj Patel 2,658


District A:

Rick Dobyns 3,602

Stephen Soboroff 1,838


District C:

Jim Throgmorton 4,324


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »